Crime Stoppers of Puget Sound

officially launched in January of 1988. Detective Myrle Carner from the Seattle Police Department was the first Law Enforcement Coordinator. The original program was named Seattle-King County Crime Stoppers of Puget Sound because it consisted of only two Police Departments: Seattle Police and the King County Sheriff's Office. All Crime Stoppers of Puget Sound programs are made of 3 parts: Law Enforcement, the Community and the Media.Crime Stoppers of Puget Sound is now responsible for 4 counties; King, Snohomish, Kitsap and Island Counties. These 4 counties serve approximately 4.1 million citizens. Crime Stoppers of Puget Sound also has a volunteer Board of Directors made up from local business leaders. We operate as an independent non-profit 501C3 organization and all donations to Crime Stoppers of Puget Sound are tax-deductible.

CSOPS board of directors meets on a monthly basis to administer the program, evaluate arrests and to decide on the size of rewards to be paid, up to $1,000. Rewards are then distributed in a private manner to anonymous tipsters. Many callers choose not to collect their reward. 

Board Members:
Mark Boe - President
Dan B. Kieling - Vice President
Teri LaMar- Treasurer
Gayle Behrend, Denny Behrend, Joanne Miller
Scott Sotebeer, Marty Rood, Dan Ratliff, Len Carver

Mike Burns

Board Member Emeritus:
Jerold McGlothlin, Doug Hill